Mondays

Is for drinking to the seldom seen kid…

.

As they go, today has been a very pleasant Monday so far.

I went to town this morning to buy a birthday card and giant cookie for the birthday friend who doesn’t like cake, (I know, who the hell doesn’t like cake??) and while I was there, two things happened to make me smile.
One was this card I found in Paperchase:

It’s funny ’cause it’s true. :’)

.

The other was the scenario that played out when I stopped off at Starbucks to grab a caramel latte for the road home. It went something like this:

Starbucks Guy: Ok, what name is it please?

Me: Why do you need to know my name? I want a coffee not a friend. 

Starbucks Guy: I know, don’t blame me, it’s just this new thing we’re doing… 

Me: Yeah, ok, I know. Sorry. *apologetic face*

Starbucks Guy: *one eyebrow raised smile* …So what is your name? 

Me: Princess Consuela Bananahammock.  

Starbucks Guy: Haha, yeah alright. I’m not writing that… 

Me: Aww, what? Fine. It’s Priscilla… Queen of the desert… 

Starbucks Guy: *laughs* Alright, alright you win. You can be ‘Tall Caramel Latte’ if you’re gonna be like that… 

Me: Tall Caramel Latte will be just fine, thankyou. 

*Conversation follows in which he tries to guess my actual name, assuming it’s something really embarrassing/unusual, and I eventually tell him I’m just Steph and he tells me he’s just Luke, and I contemplate asking him for his number (because he’s kinda cute, actually, and looks likely to be a student) but wimp out.* 

.

Perhaps I should have stayed brave and just gone for it, but then he might have said no and that would have just ruined the whole thing. Instead, my day has been made.  : )

Next time I’m totally being Engelbert Humperdinck. And I’m insisting they write it, and I’m starting a collection of cups with ‘my’ name(s) on.

~xx~

About Stephy

50% happy, 50% wildly uncertain. 94.7% bewildered, 78% raving mad, 4.5% awesome, 63% tea/coffee and cake. Wearing odd clothes, favouring odd points of view and Drifting Aimlessly since 1991. View all posts by Stephy

6 responses to “Mondays

You must be logged in to post a comment.

